A Few Days in England - November 2007

To my surprise, my request to attend an industry conference in London and to visit various contacts in Whitehall was approved, and before I had the trip fully planned I was on the plane for the 24 hour flight north to Heathrow.

I had planned a full week in London, and then travel east to Farnborough, Portsmouth and Bristol. After the work was completed, I took a few days leave to head north to the Peak District, then down to Nottingham, Rutland and back to Heathrow.

As it turned out, this was a good plan, allowing me to exceed my work expectations as well as visiting a few places of interest. But first was London....

Paul, December 2007

Days 1-10 Sun 28 Oct 2007 to 
Tues 6 Nov 2007
Arrive Terminal 3 Heathrow 1330. Underground to Leicester Sq. Walk to The Strand Palace Hotel. Days alternated with business meetings and time to explore some of London.
Day 11 Wed 7 Nov 2007 Conference in morning, then Underground to Heathrow to pick up the rental car, then southwest to Farnborough, via Chilworth and the Freyberg graves.
Day 14 Sat 10 Nov 2007 Portsmouth and the Old Dockyard - Nelson's Ship and the Mary Rose
Day 15 Sun 11 Nov 2007 Drive down to Weymouth, Portland Bill and Hardy's Memorial
Day 16 Mon 12 Nov 2007 A walk along the coast from Eype to Seaton
Day 17 Tues 13 Nov 2007 A visit to Bath
Day 18 Wed 14 Nov 2007 Meetings at Abbey Wood
Day 19 Thurs 15 Nov 2007 Morning meeting at Malvern, then a nice drive in the sun to Oswestry.
Day 20 Fri 15 Nov 2007 Through the Snowdon Mountains in Wales to Bangor, Llundudno and Great Orme Head, under the Mersey in the Queensway Tunnel then east to Glossop, Snake Pass and Froggatt Edge.
Day 21 Sat 17 Nov 2007 A walk on Froggatt Edge, through Padley Gorge and a drive up to Castleton.
Day 22 Sun 18 Nov 2007 A return visit to Castleton, only to find the road buried in SNOW!
Day 23 Mon 19 Nov 2007 Sandiacre Library, Nottingham Archives then Lunch with distant relatives
Day 24 Tues 20 Nov 2007 Down to Belton in Rutland to visit the churchyard.
Day 25 Wed 21 Nov 2007 A quick look at the old Baptist Chapel at Barrowden, then on to Heathrow

Back to Home Page